An Ode to Grass

For some reason the smell of grass is calming to me.

The color of grass brings peace to my mind.

Walking on grass barefoot is soothing to my tired and swollen feet.

Can I possibly live in a place where grass is hard to find?

In the Summer time when grass sprouts up like weeds,

Needing to get cut every two weeks.

Oh, those cutting sessions that bring noise to displease.

But the aftermath that sends my nose into overdrive,

Now I am pleased.

Yes, my soul weeps in the Fall,

When all the green is going dull.

How my soul withers.

When the dull green grows brown in the Winter.

Underneath the green is waiting to appear,

The grass is eager to sprout here.

Around the corner are those cutting sessions,

that displeased and pleased my darling senses.

My soul fills with joy so pure,

Because Spring is coming,

And the showers are near.


NotYourAverageGirl

-Rhody

One thought on “An Ode to Grass

Add yours

  1. Wonderful words, Wonderful poem. I like poems and I like grass too. Walking on grass is very good, as you connect with mother earth and your negative energy gets absorbed and clears you body. Especially when it has rained and the grass is wet and clean. Anyone who has walked will know as it gives a soothing feeling. Thank you for following my blog. I am also following you, not just because you are following but I like what you write too. Hope you learn something from what I write ? My Journey ? That is my sole intention to Inspire, Guide through, to Enlighten as many as possible from my knowledge and what I have gone through. Many Blessings of Love and Light from me 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

